A blog about dog training and dog breeding…and other sundry matters

Puppy Chronicles–Day 30

Tuesday, September 22, 2009

It’s time for more pictures, I know.  Truth is, I’m adjusting to a new work schedule, and I’ve just got a handle on things now.  It’s been a few days since I’ve taken pictures. 

I woke up early this morning to handle and play with the puppies before work, then fed them just before leaving the house.  The Screamer seems to be the only puppy who doesn’t mind being cradled on her back like a baby.  It will be interesting to see just how her personality turns out.

The litter will come to me when I make cute sounds and bend down.  They also appear from all corners of my room when I yell “Come and get it”  just before putting down their food bowls.

I noticed this morning that The Screamer isn’t too much into eating.  This morning she barely touched the food, and tonight she walked away from the supper dish and went to sleep.  I”m told that she’s still nursing from Cody, and perhaps the only puppy to do so on a regular basis now.   She seems fine, though, playing and exploring.  She sometimes eats Cody’s food.  Perhaps she’s insulted by the baby food.  Who knows!

Turbo Puppy ate till her tummy was going to pop, I thought.  I added ground beef to the food this morning and their caregiver during the day gave them at lunch.  I didn’t put any in the dish tonight, and the pups just didn’t seem interested.  Time for me to don my apron once more and cook up a batch of ground beef. Sigh…

They went out to play in their kennel this evening, and really seemed to love playing there.  I also bought new toys for them yesterday made of hard plastic with holes in them.  Cody didn’t mind the kennel too much today, either.  My hand-dandy yard boy heightened the fence of the kennel so Ms. Cody couldn’t jump out this time.

I’m now off to train my other white shepherd–the obedience competition is just around the corner.

What are your thoughts?

Tag Cloud

