A blog about dog training and dog breeding…and other sundry matters

Puppy Chronicles–Day 52

Wednesday, October 14, 2009

Screamer retrieved the ball for the very first time today!  I knew she would eventually learn how to do this.  When my now adult dogs where puppies (when I first got them), they did not know how to retrieve.  Now they are retrieve fiends–the whole lot of them.

Turbo Puppy, however, shows very little interest in playing tug, and I’m not sure why.  She played with the tug toy initially, but she performed poorly on the sight portion of the Volhard Puppy Aptitude Test.  True, the testor, who is a complete novice at this, moved the towel too quickly.  Puppies, apparently do not follow fast-moving objects very well.

I haven’t given up on Turbo, and I never will.  She will become interested in the game of tug once more.  It’s just a matter of time.  To that end, I play with her everyday, as I do with all the puppies.

It’s amazing how the little ones have taken to clicker training.  They learned in two days what took my pomeranians four months to accomplish.  The pomeranians were not trained as puppies, and they were sound sensitive and afraid of the target stick.  The puppies have grown to love the clicker and they have the most intense, eager looks on their faces when I work with them.

I am mostly shaping behaviors at this point, and capturing good behavior.  I have to keep reminding myself that it’s really cute when the puppies climb on my leg for attention, but it will not be so cute when they turn six months old.

What are your thoughts?

Tag Cloud

