A blog about dog training and dog breeding…and other sundry matters

Thank God there are people who are paying attention to the imposition of taxes on reading material and the impact that will have on a largely illiterate society.  I wrote about this issue, from an educator’s viewpoint, in an earlier post.  I’m surprised that other educators haven’t come forward to be heard.  I guess folks are just worried about how they will afford to feed themselves and their families in the new year.

In the meantime, how does the Ministry of Education and the stakeholders expect the general level of education to improve in Jamaica?  With these new taxes, I see it only eroding further. 

So my question is, How will Jamaica recover from it’s current economic bind with a population of illiterates?

Click here for the statement by the Book Industry of Jamaica.

Comments on: "The Book Industry in Jamaica Reacts to New Tax Package" (3)

  1. cheeriotrainer said:

    Debbie–

    Just wanted to tell you that I’ve found these posts about Jamaica very interesting.

    I’m embarrassed to say that I know very little about Jamaica and the country’s politics. It’s interesting to hear about what is going on in your part of the world.

    I am sorry for all your taxes, though. It sounds as if things will be difficult for many citizens of your country in the coming year.

    Mary

    • Hi Mary, Thanks for your interest in Jamaica. For sure there’s never a dull moment here. I’ve been living here for over four years now, and I’ve experienced rioting, mass strikes, not to mention hurricanes.

      The Prime Minister announced a new tax package tonight, but I heard nothing about the taxing of basic food items and books.

      I’m hoping to read/hear some commentary tomorrow.

  2. This is just awesome Thankyou for posting this 🙂

What are your thoughts?

Tag Cloud

